Christmas and Endo

Published December 28, 2012 by crazyinpink

First of all, to whoever happens to be reading this, I hope you had a very Merry Christmas!

My Christmas was lovely, just a quiet, family affair with lots of laughter and banter.  The only downside was the pain. 

Over the last few months I’ve had trouble eating.  Around half an hour after each meal I get the most awful spasms and pain.  On my last trip to the doctor, when I actually got to see my own GP for probably the first time in 2012, he put me on a new medication to help with the digestive problems.  The medication is a sachet of powder you have to dissolve in water and drink twice a day.  It tastes absolutely disgusting and has already brought on yucky side effects.  I hardly got any sleep the night before Christmas and have still to get a full night. 

I went to my aunt and uncle’s for Christmas dinner and had to pack my electric hot water bottle to take with me.  My plate looked very dull compared to everyone else’s as I had to forgo veggies and ham.  I probably should have laid off the stuffing too but it’s my favourite part of Christmas dinner!! I spend the rest of the day curled up in an armchair hugging my hot water bottle.

It frustrates me when I can’t join in like everyone else.  At a Christmas party the weekend before the big day, I spent the entire night sitting on the sofa and staying away from the food.  I don’t like that I’m now so boring but when I find a comfy position, I have to stay there. 

 

Happily, the countdown is on! I will be going in to have my endo all cut out and I’m so excited! All being well, and dependent on there being a bed for me, I go in on the 9th January to have my op on the 10th.  Santa was very good to me and brought lots of pyjamas and socks for my stay in hospital.  I also got some boxsets to get me through my recovery time at home.

Amidst all this, I have recently gained an admirer who is taking me out for coffee tomorrow. He seems really keen and is a lovely guy. So…watch this space!

3 comments on “Christmas and Endo

  • I really hope your surgery helps! My first one had my symptom-free for 3 years, but the second didn’t really help at all. Endo is apparently quite the gamble. But you know that I’m sure! And I am 100% sure you are NOT boring!!! Don’t you ever think that again. 😉

  • Leave a Reply

