Boys! Boys! Boys!

Published May 8, 2012 by crazyinpink

The past few nights I’ve had dreams about different guys in my life ranging from the mundane (one of them taking me to Ikea to buy curtains) to the downright weird (one of them being my boyfriend as I tried to put on a production of Annie in a Victorian school building).  So what better time to reflect on the existence of boys in my life and what better title than that of the (subtly-changed) Elvis movie Girls! Girls! Girls!

First of all there’s Best Friend. A whole relationship I’ve already gone into before which is still teeming with awkwardness.

Then there’s my Toyboy. I met him last summer, thought he was cute and we flirted as we helped out at a Holiday Bible Club in church before I discovered he was only 17.  Cue endless slagging from my mates about me being a ‘cougar’. His age didn’t bother me as much as the fact that he was still in school, I couldn’t possibly have started anything with a boy who still wears a uniform. We toned the flirting down and still remain friends. Every so often we’ll go out for dinner or to a movie, things that seem normal for me but very ‘grown-up’ to him. Bless. He’s like an excitable little puppy dog, he cheers me up but is completely exhausting.

Next (and this is where it gets a little complicated) is Lucius. No, that’s not his real name but writing in code is the only thrill I’ll have today and he bears an uncanny resemblance to Lucius Malfoy in A Very Potter Sequel. Lucius and I worked together for six months and saw each other every day. I trust him, he was my friend during my last relationship and through its demise and after we finished work met up with me a few times for lunch. A few months ago, things with Lucius got weird. He’s very flirty anyway and has quite a dirty sense of humour but the flirting stepped up a notch once we weren’t seeing each other every day. When Lucius and I first met we were part of a trio doing temp work with another guy Dave. The three of us reunite every few months for lunch. In January the three of us went out for a meal and to the cinema, it was the weirdest date-type thing ever as both were vying for my attention. Dave by talking about all the things we have in common while Lucius kept finding reasons to touch my arm or play with my hair. All three of us are Potterheads and when I mentioned that I knew how Hermione felt being with two guys all the time they started questioning which of them was Harry and which was Ron. Both wanted to be Ron.

Anyway… There’s Face now too. My flirting distraction. After barely speaking in work on Friday he then tweeted me all weekend and described me as ‘eclectic’. I’m not sure whether this was a compliment or not.

And finally, Jam. *sigh* The only guy I know I fancy. While I enjoy flirting with the others, I know nothing will happen with Toyboy or Lucius. Face is still an unknown entity as I’ve only known him a few weeks but Jam… I really want something to happen with Jam. We have a lot in common and although it took a really long time for us to start talking to each other, I love our half hour convos at the end of work. He went away to Australia and New Zealand for a month and came back to work today. I was so nervous about seeing him again. Things had been going really well with our friendship before he left, what if it wasn’t as big a deal as I thought it was? What if I had romanticised just how well we had been getting on? After a complicated decision about what to wear and how to do my hair, I got into work this morning and when he saw me he gave me a big smile and asked how I was and what’s been going on for the last month. I haven’t stopped smiling since. 😀

Leave a Reply

